Scientists recognize seven species of sea turtles, that are grouped into six genera. Each turtle has both a scientific name and a common name. The scientific name identifies the genus and species, and the common name generally describes some characteristics of turtles. 
Different species of sea turtles do not compete much as they have adapted to different diets. They have mouths and jaws specially adapted to the different types of foods items they like. Also, each species of sea turtles eats, sleeps, swims and reproduces in different locations. Sometimes, their habitats overlap, however most of the time each one has different preferences, or chose a different timing. 


All species that occur in the Lusophone nations are classified as Endangered or Vulnerable on the IUCN Red List (International Union for Conservation of Nature – The World Conservation Union).
All integrate the Appendix I of CITES (Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora) and all are also part of Appendixes I and H of the Convention for the Conservation on the Migratory Species of Wild Animals, known as the Bonn Convention, and also integrate national lists of some of the Lusophone nations.